Nottinghamshire councils prepare for life in East Midlands authority

Labour's Claire Ward has been elected East Midlands Mayor.
By Jamie Waller, Local Democracy Reporter

Council documents shed light on how the new political landscape will shift responsibilities to the East Midlands mayoral authority in the coming weeks.

Claire Ward (Lab) was elected as the first ever Mayor earlier this month.

The authority will bring £1.1bn of investment to the region over the next 30 years, and will make decisions about transport, housing, economic development and net zero which were previously made in Westminster.

Nottingham City Council and Nottinghamshire County Council are constituent members of the authority, along with Derby City Council and Derbyshire County Council.

They will handover their powers for how transport is planned, delivered and operated for the area.

Reports for both councils’ upcoming Annual General Meetings show their joint transport committee, which previously handled these matters, will be disbanded.

The councils will be able to name members to sit on the EMCCA’s new committees once they are formed, having a say in matters across both the two counties.

These are expected to be the Transport Advisory Committee, Skills and Employment Advisory Committee, Investment Committee, Overview and Scrutiny Committee and Audit and Governance Committee.

The leader and deputy leader of both councils also currently sit on the mayoral authority’s board, advising the leader.

The AGM reports stress how vital working with the new Mayor and the authority will be.

The creation “is of fundamental importance to the sub-region, Nottingham and for the delivery of the City Council’s vision for the city,” one says.

“This relationship, of fundamental importance to the Council, will be a priority for the foreseeable future.”

They also emphasise that the councils and their taxpayers won’t be liable for any costs of the new Combined County Authority, which will be met by government funding.

Claire Ward has told the BBC that she won’t create a precept (a form of council tax) on residents in her first term either.

The EMCCA was formally created in February after years of negotiations and delays.

Derby City Council and Derbyshire County Council are the other two members, with Leicester having been left out of the plans.

Nottinghamshire County Council’s AGM to confirm the committee changes will be held on Thursday, May 16, and Nottingham City Council’s is on Monday, May 20.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)