Virtues director Shane Meadows praises award-winning Nottingham creative students

From left: Film director Shane Meadows, actor Vicky McClure and film visual effects specialist Max Solomon at the ceremony.

Virtues director Shane Meadows was among a host of industry professionals who praised Nottingham students awarded for their work at Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies.

The Nottingham-based filmmaker turned out for a ceremony which marked the biggest and brightest achievements by a generation of talent graduating from the creative technology education provider.

Line of Duty and This is England Actor Vicky McClure also praised students and presented an award at the event, held at Metronome on Huntingdon Street in Nottingham on Wednesday (June 5).

Students were presented with their awards by professionals, decided on their performance within subject areas.

Other awards included one for students who have been most involved in industry work experience alongside their studies – the ‘Do It For Real Award’.

Confetti, on Convent Street, Nottingham, is part of Nottingham Trent University and is renowned for its creative courses geared towards careers in sectors such as music, film and television, live events and games.

Claire Bailey, about to complete a BSc in Audio and Music Technology at Confetti, was named Student of the Year.

Students were awarded for their work on course-based projects and for ‘real life’ institutions.

Her award was presented to her by the Vice-Chancellor of Nottingham Trent University, Professor Edward Peck.

Originally hailing from Nottingham, Claire came to Confetti as a mature student after working as an administrator across a variety of industries. She is currently working on an industry project with Twycross Zoo which she acquired through Confetti.

Professor Peck said: “I was delighted to present the award to Claire and offer my congratulations to all nominees and winners.

“It was an inspiring event, and I am sure that all the winners, nominees and Confetti students have exciting prospects ahead.”

Confetti Chief Executive Craig Chettle added: “Each year, the Degree Showcase is the highlight of the Confetti calendar for our degree students. This year has been no exception, as it’s provided a great opportunity for the students to showcase their work to friends, family and industry before they graduate and go onto a bright future.”

The Virtues director Shane Meadows told the audience it would have been “a dream” to study at Coneftti had it existed when he was starting out in film-making.

The Virtues is a Channel 4 drama series which ended on Wednesday to widespread critical acclaim.

Meadows’ other work also includes the Bafta-winning This is England film and TV Series, which starred McClure.

The full list of winners

Confetti Student of the Year Award – Claire Bailey (BSc Audio and Music Technology)
Do It For Real Award – Ben Raven (FdSc Television Production Technology)
Milo Kelly Rising Star Award – Hannah Dolby (FdA Games Art)
Live and Technical Events Student of the Year Award – Jordan Hallam (BSc Live and Technical Events)
Music Performance Student of the Year Award – Rhianne Mee (FdA Music Performance)
Audio & Music Technology Student of the Year Award – Claire Bailey (BSc Audio and Music Technology)
Overall Performance in Audio & Music Technology Award – Dan George (BSc Audio and Music Technology)
Best Music Performance Award – Buccera (Amber Linley, Tristan Lowe, Gregor Forsyth, Oliver Carnell, Luke Hallam)
Best Emerging Technology Project Award – Aaron Patchett (BSc Live and Technical Events)
Games Production Technology Student of the Year Award – Magdalena Mojsiejuk (BSc Games Production)
Best Game Award – Ryan Belshaw (BSc Games Production)
Games Art Student of the Year Award – Tanesha Angeles (BA Games Art)
Best Games Art Award – Sabiha Chowdury (BA Games Art)
Television Production Technology Student of the Year Award – Georgia Ostell (BSc Television Production Technology)
Film Production Technology Student of the Year Award – Christie Ellis (BSc Film Production Technology)
Visual Effects Production Technology Student of the Year Award – Thomas Wilson (BSc Visual Effects Production Technology)
Best Film Production Award – Albert Donkor (BSc Film Production Technology)
Best Television Production Award – Stella Lowe (FdSc Television Production Technology)
Best VFX Production Award – Kane Chettle (BSc Visual Effects Production Technology)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)