New Year’s Honours 2019: The Nottinghamshire list in full

new year honours 2015, buckingham palace
Photo by DAVID ILIFF. License: CC-BY-SA 3.0

A Nottingham chairman of governors who has served education for almost half a century is among those on the New Year’s Honour’s List 2019.

Paul Anthony Irons, 71, of Wollaton, is Chair of Governors at Fernwood School, Wollaton. He gets an MBE for services to education in the list drawn up by the Queen.

His father, Eric Irons, was the first black magistrate in Britain and was also honoured with an OBE in 1978.

Leading academics and local entrepreneurs are also on the list, and in total 12 Nottinghamshire people are being honoured this year.

Four will get British Empire Medals or BEMs, five get MBEs and three will receive an OBE.

Order of the British Empire – OBE

Dr Jagbir Jhutti-Johal. Senior lecturer in Sikh studies at University of Birmingham. For services to higher education, faith communities and to the voluntary sector. (West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire)

Professor Mary Elizabeth Nevill. Head of sports science, school of science and technology at Nottingham Trent University. For services to sport and to sports science.

Alexandra Elizabeth Peace-Gadsby. Director Fylo Enterprises. For services to entrepreneurship and the community in Newark. (Newark, Nottinghamshire)


Andrea Armstrong. Senior district business manager at Crown Prosecution Service. For services to law and order. (Redhill, Nottinghamshire)

Enid Bakewell. For services to women’s cricket. (Kirby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire)

Paul Anthony Irons. Chair of governors Fernwood School, Nottingham. For services to education. (Wollaton, Nottinghamshire)

Professor Stacy Dianne Johnson. Associate professor at University of Nottingham. For services to healthcare, to higher education to equality, to diversity and to inclusion.

Jonathan Parsons. Investigator Fraud Investigation Service, HM Revenue and Customs. For public service. (Nottinghamshire)

British Empire Medal – BEM

Josephine Kitchin. For services to charity and to young people in Nottinghamshire. (Newark, Nottinghamshire)

Stuart Newton Wreford Roderick. For voluntary service to prisoners HM Prison Whatton. (Bottesford, Nottinghamshire)

John Ernest Tarr. For services to sport and to the community in Bassetlaw, Nottinghamshire. (Worksop, Nottinghamshire)

Peter Wynne-Thomas. For services to cricket and to the community in Nottinghamshire. (West Bridgford, Nottinghamshire)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)