Voting gets underway in Nottinghamshire after dramatic general election campaign

Polling stations across Notts are open until 10pm on Thursday.

Voting is underway across Nottinghamshire for what has already become known as one of the most dramatic and important general elections in a generation.

Polling stations opened at 7am and will remain open until 10pm tonight (Thursday).

Any eligible electors who at 10pm are in their polling station, or are in a queue outside their polling station will still be allowed to vote.

There are eleven parliamentary constituencies across Nottinghamshire – each returning one MP to the House of Commons.

Notts will return 11 MPS to the House of Commons. Picture: Jim Trodel

Votes are counted almost immediately after polling stations close, with the first results expected around 3am.

An overall election result is expected around 7am – although it may be later if the polls are close.

And you can keep up to date at – where a live Notts results and reaction blog will run from 9pm on Thursday, right through until Friday lunchtime.

We’ll have reporters covering every single Nottinghamshire constituency, bringing you the results as they happen in our live blog, with pictures and video also on our Twitter feed and Facebook page.

Then on results night we’re going LIVE on Friday (June 9) from our city centre studio, when our special election reaction programme begins at 5.30pm, for two hours, followed by a special election edition of the Notts TV Debate.

(Visited 245 times, 1 visits today)