Brexit EU repeal bill: How all of Nottinghamshire’s MPs voted

MPs have approved the Government’s EU withdrawal bill – which will end European law’s supremacy in Britain.

Members backed it at second reading by 329 votes to 290 after a late night vote on Monday (September 11).

Before the vote MPs in Nottinghamshire had been divided on the bill, with some saying it could lead to an “unnecessary power grab” which could mean the Government can change laws without consulting Parliament.

Supporters argued the bill was needed to ensure the Brexit process is not “frustrated” and to avoid legal “chaos” when Britain leaves the union.

The legislation will now move through several other stages in Parliament before becoming law.

Here’s how all of Nottinghamshire’s MPs voted.

Ashfield: Gloria De Piero, Labour – AGAINST

Bassetlaw: John Mann, Labour – FOR

Broxtowe: Anna Soubry, Conservative – FOR

Gedling: Vernon Coaker, Labour – AGAINST

Mansfield: Ben Bradley, Conservative – FOR

Newark: Robert Jenrick, Conservative – FOR

Nottingham East: Chris Leslie, Labour – AGAINST

Nottingham North: Alex Norris, Labour – AGAINST

Nottingham South: Lilian Greenwood, Labour – AGAINST

Rushcliffe: Ken Clarke, Conservative – ABSTAINED

Sherwood: Mark Spencer, Conservative – FOR