Parliamentary boundaries could change in Notts – with Gedling disappearing altogether

How the new Nottingham East seat could look (Image: Electoral Commission)
By Kit Sandeman, Local Democracy Reporter

Parliamentary boundaries could change across Nottinghamshire – which would lead to Gedling disappearing altogether.

Gedling, which is held by Labour MP Vernon Coaker, would disappear altogether and largely be absorbed by a new Nottingham East and Carlton seat.

The boundaries of most of the county’s constituencies would change, as shown on the maps below, if recommendations by the Electoral Commission are approved by Government.

Loughborough and South Rushcliffe (Image: Electoral Commission)

Rushcliffe is one of the areas which would change significantly, becoming two separate seats with one of them involving parts of North Loughborough.

Broxtowe, which is currently a marginal seat held by Conservative MP Anna Soubry, would be called Broxtowe and Hucknall.

Broxtowe and Hucknall (Image: Electoral Commission)

Nottingham East, which is held by Labour’s Chris Leslie, would become Nottingham East and Carlton.

Nottingham South, which is Lilian Greenwood’s Labour stronghold, would become Nottingham West and Beeston, while there would also be changes to Nottingham North, currently held by Labour’s Alex Norris.

Nottingham West and Beeston (Image: Electoral Commission)

Ruschliffe is currently held by Father of the House, Conservative Ken Clarke.

This would be split between two constituencies, becoming North Rushcliffe and Clifton, and Loughborough and South Rushcliffe.

North Rushcliffe and Clifton (Image: Electoral Commission)

The final report was published today by the Electoral Commission following months of consultation and planning.

It will now be sent to the Government for final approval.

The commission was tasked with reducing the overall number of constituencies across the country from 650 to 600.

Nottingham North (Image: Electoral Commission)

Secretary to the Electoral Commission Sam Hartley said: “The recommendations we’ve published today mark the end of a thorough and consultative process to build the new map of constituencies.

“We’ve travelled the country, taken account of more than 35,000 public comments and heard many impassioned views about how best to reflect local communities in our recommendations while ensuring that constituencies are all much more equally represented.

“We’re confident the map we propose today is the best match of the legal rules Parliament has set us.

“It’s now up to Parliament to decide whether these boundaries will be used at the next general election.”

The report found: “In the City of Nottingham area, we received significant opposition to the inclusion of the Nottingham city ward of Bilborough in the proposed Broxtowe and Hucknall constituency.

“Respondents considered the ward should be included in either the Nottingham North or the proposed Nottingham South and Beeston constituency.

“Some counter-proposals resolved including Bilborough in a Nottingham constituency by reconfiguring nearly all constituencies in the sub-region.

“Some counter-proposals suggested modifications to the proposed Nottingham South and Beeston and Broxtowe and Hucknall constituencies.

“We recognise the opposition received regarding the inclusion of the Clifton area in the North Rushcliffe constituency but consider that the counter-proposals resulted in significant changes to other constituencies that had largely been supported.

“Similarly, we note the concerns regarding the division of Chilwell between constituencies and we did investigate alternative proposals.”

Mansfield (Image: Electoral Commission)
Newark (Image: Electoral Commission)
(Visited 648 times, 1 visits today)